Wednesday, November 5th, 2014
Registration desk will be open at the Holiday Inn between 6:00pm - 8:00pm.
Students who arrive on this day can use the Holiday Inn restaurant to have dinner and put charges on their room (only Wednesday dinner, no beverages please!).


Thursday, November 6th, 2014
Nebraska Champions Club

Bus Shuttle Schedule
8:30 a.m. & 8:45 a.m. - Holiday Inn to Champions Club
7:30 p.m. & 7:45 p.m. - Champions Club to Holiday Inn

8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Registration will be open all day (Nebraska Champions Club)
9:00 a.m.
Welcome Remarks/Meeting Kick-Off
Axel Enders
(Conference Chair); Stephen Goddard (Associate Vice Chancellor for Research); Dan Claes (Dept. Chair Physics & Astronomy)
Morning Session I (Session Chair: Xiaoshan Xu)
9:30 a.m.
Raychelle Burks (Doane College, Crete, NE)
Bench & Beyond
10:30 a.m.
Coffee Break
10:50 a.m.
Lydia Sohn (University of California - Berkeley, CA)
Node-Pore Sensing--How a Simple Four-Terminal Measurement Can Screen Cancer Cells
11:50 a.m.
Shannon Berrier (Clarion University of Pennsylvania, Clarion, PA)
Synthesis of Silicon Oxide Nanowires
12:10 a.m.
Kelly Stifter (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN)
Updated Track Fitting Method for the Silicon Tracking Telescope at Fermilab Test Beam Facility
12:30 p.m.
Afternoon Session II (Session Chair: Eva Schubert)
2:00 p.m.
Karolina Kosinska (Missouri State University, Springfield, MO)
RNA-seq Analysis in Carbon Nanostructure-Exposed Arabidopsis Thaliana Plants
2:20 p.m..
Amelia Chiles (Missouri State University, Springfield, MO)
Effects of carbon nanotubes on Arabidopsis thaliana physiology and Plutella xylostella feeding
2:40 p.m.
Katelyn Stringer (Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN)
Using Photometry to Calibrate AggieCam for Extrasolar Planet Searches
3:00 p.m.
3:30 p.m.
Amber Boehnlein (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Menlo Park, CA)
Large-scale data-intensive physics computing
4:30 p.m.

Poster Session

6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Dinner Buffett


Friday, November 7th, 2014
Nebraska Champions Club

Bus Shuttle Schedule
8:30 a.m. & 8:45 a.m. - Holiday Inn to Champions Club
4:30 p.m. & 4:45 p.m. - Champions Club to Holiday Inn
5:45 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. - Holiday Inn to Jorgensen Hall
8:30 p.m. - Jorgensen Hall to Holiday Inn
10:30 p.m. - Jorgensen Hall to Holiday Inn

8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Registration open (Nebraska Champions Club)
Morning Session III (Session Chair: Axel Enders)
9:00 a.m.
Sarah Tolbert (University of California - Los Angeles, CA)
Self-Assembled Nanomaterials for Electrochemical Energy Storage, Solar Energy Harvesting, and Nanomagnetics
(Session Chair: Mathias Schubert)
10:00 a.m.
Michelle Waite (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, NE)
STEM as a Foundation for a Public Voice
11:00 a.m.
Coffee Break
11:15 a.m.
Grad School / Career Discussion (Session Chair: Axel Enders)
Justina Clark (Director Graduate Recruitment UNL); Rebecca Lai (Graduate Chair Chemistry); Brad Shadwick (Graduate Committee Physics)
12:05 p.m.
Lunch with UNL faculty
Afternoon Session IV (Session Chair: Alexey Kovalev)
1:35 p.m.
Jennie Pirolo (California State University - San Bernardino, CA)
Crystal Design for Future Ferroelectrics
1:55 p.m.
Ashley Knulty (College of the Ozarks, Point Lookout, MO)
The Stereoselective Synthesis of Fluorinated β-Lactams
2:15 p.m.
Kamlesh Lulla (NASA, Director of University Collaborations and Partnerships)
Space exploration: Opportunities for a new generation
3:15 p.m.
Coffee Break
3:30 p.m.
Lucia Fernandez-Ballester (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, NE)
From Polymer Molecules to Materials: Controlled Morphology and Properties through Processing and Crystallization
4:30 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Jazz and Dinner - Grill Out, Jorgensen Hall Atrium
UNL Students Jazz Band
7:30 p.m. - 8:15 p.m.
Dan Claes (Dept. Chair Physics & Astronomy) (136 Jorgensen Hall)
Comic Book Physics 101
8:15 p.m.
Movie & Ice Cream Night (movie: I, Robot)


Saturday, November 8th, 2014
Jorgensen Hall, Room 136

Bus Shuttle Schedule
9:00 a.m. & 9:15 a.m. - Holiday Inn to Hamilton Hall/Jorgensen Hall
5:00 p.m. & 5:15 p.m. - Jorgensen Hall to Holiday Inn

9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Lab tours
Morning Session V (Session Chair: Xia Hong)
11:30 a.m.
Albina Borisevich (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, TN)
Physics of Oxide Interfaces, Atom by Atom
12:30 p.m.
Lunch at the Physics Department
Afternoon Session VI (Session Chair: Shireen Adenwalla)
1:30 p.m.
Yanning Sun (IBM Yorktown Heights, NY)
Material and Device Innovation for Nano-CMOS Technology
2:30 p.m.
Lisa Schlueter (California State University - San Bernardino, CA)
Thin Films of Organic Ferroelectric Co-Crystals
2:50 p.m.
Julia D'Rozario (State University of New York-Oswego, NY)
Capillary Condensation Transitions for Cylindrical Geometries
3:10 p.m.
Jordyn Atwater (Doane College, Crete, NE)
Constructing colorimetric assays for DETECHIP using inkjet printing
3:30 p.m.
Coffee Break
4:00 p.m.
Mirzojamshed Mirzokarimov (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, NE)
Terahertz Ellipsometry in material characterization
4:20 p.m.
Yvonne Ng (University of Texas at Arlington, TX)
Seasonal dependence and aging effect of the Gas electron Multiplier for the Silicon Detector in the International Linear Collider
4:40 p.m.
Amy Tainter (LANL, Northern New Mexico College, Española, NM)
An optical diagnostic for surface velocity measurements at the Los Alamos Proton Radiography facility
5:00 p.m.
Bus or Walk to Holiday Inn
6:30 p.m.

Conference Dinner at the Holiday Inn (University Room)


Sunday, November 9th, 2014