WoPhyS 2013

Fifth Annual Conference

Thursday, October 24 - Saturday, October 26, 2013

WoPhyS 2013 pictures!!!


Announcement (October-25-2013):

Here are the winners of the Best Poster Award:

  • Ashton Archer, Kansas State University, KS; "Pool Boiling on Enhanced Surfaces"
  • Christopher Barnes, University of Notre Dame, IN; "Estimating the Invisible Z Background in All-Hadronic Supersymmetry Searches Using SHERPA"
  • Hannah Shuman, Cleveland State University, OH; "Controlling the Shape and Size of Polypeptide Colloidal Particles: Characterization by Light Scattering"
  • Harley Marrocco, Randolph-Macon College, VA; "Exclusion of Nitrate to the Surface of Ice Upon Freezing"
  • Lana Zholudeva, Creighton University, Omaha, NE; "Two-Photon Fluorescence Lifetime Microscopy for Profiling Cancerous Tumor Spheroids"


Announcement (October-15-2013):

Follow @iEnders on Twitter for conference news.
Like the Department of Physics and Astronomy at UNL on Facebook!

Announcement (September-24-2013):

Registration is closed.

Announcement (September-19-2013):

The response to our advertisement to register for this conference has been overwhelming! Already now we have record-high participation. We were thus forced to close registration before our deadline. The new deadline is now Monday, September 23! Please contact Axel Enders (axel@unl.edu) if you have any questions. We are looking forward to meeting you in Lincoln in October!

Announcement (September-13-2013):

Confirmed plenary speakers:

  • Elke Ahrenholz, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA
  • Theda Daniels-Race, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Pallavi Dhagat, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR
  • Helen Farrell, Idaho National Laboratory, Idaho Falls, ID
  • Minna Hovinen, Seagate, Minneapolis, MN
  • Angela Pannier, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE
  • Michelle Shinn, Jefferson Laboratory, Newport News,VA
  • Rhonda Stroud, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC
  • Eva Zurek, SUNY, Buffalo, NY

Announcement (August-1-2013):

Registration is now open!!!

Announcement (July-22-2013):

Students are encouraged to register for this conference online. Registration will be open starting August 1st. Thanks to our sponsors, all local expenses (including room and board) will be covered by us, and travel scholarships are available upon request.

Announcement (July-1-2013):

This year's WoPhyS conference will be held in partnership with the Nebraska Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) and the Center for Nanohybrid Functional Materials (CNFM). Support is also provided by Nebraska EPSCoR, the Nebraska Center for Materials and Nanoscience (NCMN), and the AMO Program of Excellence.

Announcement (May-7-2013):

This year's conference will highlight progress in the quest for new materials and nanoscience. Our theme hence is "Nano Trek 2013". We invite research active undergraduate students in physical sciences to attend this conference. If you are currently pursuing an undergraduate degree in physics, chemistry, engineering, astronomy or related STEM disciplines, then this conference is for you! Please check this website frequently for updates.

Co-Sponsored by



Department of Physics & Astronomy AMO PoE