Tentative Program

Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Registration desk will be open at the Graduate Lincoln hotel between 6:00pm - 8:00pm.
Students who arrive on this day can use the Graduate Lincoln restaurant to have dinner and put charges on their room (only Wednesday dinner, no alcoholic beverages please!).


Thursday, November 9, 2017
Nebraska Champions Club

Shuttle Bus Schedule

8:30 a.m. & 8:45 a.m. - Graduate to Champions Club
7:20 p.m. & 7:35 p.m. - Champions Club to Graduate
TBD - Graduate to Lincoln Laser Tag
TBD - Lincoln Laser Tag to Graduate

8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Registration will be open all day (Nebraska Champions Club)
9:00 a.m.
Welcome Remarks/Meeting Kick-Off
Rebecca Lai
(Conference Chair, Chemistry), Dan Claes (Department Chair, Physics & Astronomy), Jeff Shield (Department Chair, Mechanical & Materials Engineering)
Morning Session I (Session Chair: Rebecca Lai)
9:30 a.m.
Keynote Speaker: Alexandra Dominguez (NASA Marshall Space Flight Center)
10:30 a.m.
Coffee Break
Morning Session II (Session Chair: TBA)
11:00 a.m. Invited Student Speaker
11:20 a.m.
Invited Student Speaker
11:40 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
12:00 p.m.
Afternoon Session III (Session Chair: TBA)
1:20 p.m.
Keynote Speaker: Virginia Lorenz (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
2:20 p.m
Invited Student Speaker
2:40 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
3:00 p.m.
Coffee Break
Afternoon Session IV (Session Chair: TBA)
3:30 p.m.
Keynote Speaker: Sevil Salur (Rutgers University)
4:30 p.m.
Poster Session
6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Dinner Buffet
9:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Laser Tag @ Lincoln Laser Tag


Friday, November 10, 2017
Nebraska Champions Club

Shuttle Bus Schedule

8:30 a.m. & 8:45 a.m. - Graduate to Champions Club
4:45 p.m. & 5:00 p.m - Champions Club to Graduate
6:00 p.m. & 6:15 p.m. - Graduate to Jorgensen Hall
8:45 p.m. & 9:00 p.m. - Jorgensen Hall to Graduate

8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Registration open (Nebraska Champions Club)
Morning Session V (Session Chair: TBA)
9:00 a.m.
Keynote Speaker: Ching-Tzu Chen (IBM)
10:00 a.m.
Coffee Break
Morning Session VI (Session Chair: TBA)
10:30 a.m.
Keynote Speaker: Marisol Alcantara Ortigoza (University of Central Florida / Tuskegee University)
11:30 a.m.

“Hitchhiker’s Guide to Graduate School” panel
Facilitator: Christina Wilson (Doane University)

12:30 p.m.
Lunch with UNL faculty
Afternoon Session VII (Session Chair: TBA)
1:50 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
2:10 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
2:30 p.m.
Keynote Speaker: Sophia Hayes (Washington University in St. Louis)
3:30 p.m.
Coffee Break
Afternoon Session VIII (Session Chair: TBA)
3:45 p.m.
Keynote Speaker: Kristen Buchanan (Colorado State University)
4:45 p.m. - 6:15 p.m.
6:15 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Dinner - Grill Out, Jorgensen Hall Atrium
7:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Friday Night Talk (136 Jorgensen Hall)
Julia H. Majors (AIP)
8:30 p.m.
 Student Observatory Open Night

Saturday, November 11, 2017
Jorgensen Hall, Room 136

Shuttle Bus Schedule

8:45 a.m. - Graduate to Hamilton Hall
9:30 a.m. - Graduate to Jorgensen Hall
5:10 p.m. & 5:25 p.m. - Jorgensen Hall to Graduate

9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.
Chemistry lab tours (Hamilton Hall)
9:45 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Physics and NCMN lab tours (Jorgensen Hall)
Morning Session IX (Session Chair: TBA)
11:30 a.m.
Keynote Speaker: Suzanne G.E. te Velthuis (Argonne National Lab)
12:30 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
12:50 p.m.
Lunch at the Physics Department
Afternoon Session X (Session Chair: Rebecca Lai)
1:50 p.m.
Keynote Speaker: Suzanne Amador Kane (Haverford College) 
2:50 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
3:10 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
3:30 p.m.
Coffee Break
Afternoon Session XI (Session Chair: TBA)
3:45 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
4:05 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
4:25 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
4:45 p.m.
Invited Student Speaker
5:05 p.m.
Bus or Walk to the Graduate Lincoln hotel
6:30 p.m.

Conference Dinner at the Graduate Lincoln (Husker Ballroom)


Sunday, November 12th, 2017