WoPhyS 2017 Conference


WoPhyS 2017 - Ninth Annual Conference

"SCI WARS: Join the Rebellion"

Thursday, Nov. 9 - Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017


Announcement (November-13-2017):

Here are the winners of the Best Poster Award:

  • Dea Alqurwani (Randolph-Macon College): "Electrospinning is a Method of Creating Fibers using Electrostatic Forces"
  • Hannah Gulick (University of Iowa): "HaloSat – A CubeSat to Study the Hot Galactic Halo"
  • Juliana Herran (University of Northern Iowa): "Atomic Disorder Induced Modification of Magnetization in MnCrVAl"
  • Milauni Mehta (The Ohio State University): "Cobalt-Catalyzed Hydroboration of 1,3-(E)-dienes"
  • Whitney Harmon (University of Kansas): "Photochromic Switching in the Plasmonic Field of Gold Nanoparticles"



Announcement (October-26-2017):

Registration for the 2017 meeting has been incredible! We have reached maximum capacity and were thus forced to close registration. Please contact Jocelyn Bosley (jbosley@unl.edu) if you have any questions. We are looking forward to meeting you in Lincoln in November!


Announcement (August-31-2017):

List of Confirmed Speakers:

1) Marisol Alcantara Ortigoza (University of Central Florida / Tuskegee University)

2) Suzanne Amador Kane (Haverford College) 

3) Kristen Buchanan (Colorado State University)

4) Ching-Tzu Chen (IBM)

5) Alexandra Dominguez (NASA Marshall Space Flight Center)

6) Sophia Hayes (Washington University in St. Louis)

7) Virginia Lorenz (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

8) Julia H. Majors (American Institute of Physics)

9) Sevil Salur (Rutgers University)

10) Suzanne G.E. te Velthuis (Argonne National Lab)


Announcement (August-1-2017):

This years conference will be held on November 9-11, 2017. Please check our web page regularly for updates.


Check out the WoPhyS 2016 Pictures!


Co-Sponsored by

Materials Research Science and Engineering Center

Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (Nebraska MRSEC)

Nebraska EPSCoR

Nebraska-Kansas EPSCoR Consortium

Nebraska Center for Materials and Nanoscience
Nebraska Center for Materials and Nanoscience


Office of Research and Economic Development
College of Arts & Sciences Dean's office